Honors and Awards

12/21/2017 - PHS Named to Advanced Placement Honor Roll!

Students Recognized for Performance on AP Exams : Region 15 School District Named to Advanced Placement District Honor Roll

Pomperaug Regional School District #15 was one of 447 school districts in the U.S. and Canada to be named to the College Board’s 8th Annual Advanced Placement District Honor Roll. To be included on the Honor Roll, Region 15 had to, since 2015, increase the number of students participating in Advanced Placement courses while also increasing or maintaining the percentage of students earning AP Exam scores of 3 or higher on a 5-point scale. AP exams are standardized examinations that measure students’ mastery of college-level content and skills.

“Region 15 is committed to meeting the 21st century educational needs of all students.  We are pleased that so many of our students have already demonstrated competency in college-level work, as indicated by Region 15’s recognition on the AP Honor Roll.  We are equally pleased with students’ demonstrations of critical thinking, collaboration, communication, innovation, global citizenship and character through all of their courses and experiences at PHS,” said Regina Lemerich Botsford, Superintendent of Region 15 Schools.

At the Board of Education meeting on Monday, December 11th, 2017 last year’s class of Juniors and Seniors at Pomperaug High School were recognized a total of 94 times by having been named by College Board as AP Scholars, AP Scholars with Honor, AP Scholars with Distinction, or National AP Scholars. Recognition was based on the number of AP examinations students have cumulatively taken in their academic careers through the Spring, 2017.

The following 38 students were recognized as AP Scholars, for receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP tests: Max Atkinson, Grayden Bain, Sara Belmont, Alyssa Bernabe, Helmon Betancourth, Kaeleigh Canty, Natalie Connors, Evan Cyganowski, Abigail Davis, Julia Desiato, Tyler Englander, Erlin Etemi, John Fimmano, Siobhan Flanagan, Elliot Frohinger, John Funk, Kaitlyn Furr, Scott Gaffney, Aidan Garrity, Dylan Hicks, Kyle Hunihan, Cassidy Jeche, Alexander Kelbley, Taylor Kissinger, Christopher Lang, Julian Lebel, Isabelle Messina, Megan Muller, Ronald Nemec, Joseph Novitski, Isabella Pirola, Jared Ramsey, Jack Rupff, Samantha Santos, Laura Skinger, Lauren Stango, Sierra Sutherland, and Matthew Wisnefsky.

The following 18 students were recognized as AP Scholars with Honor, for receiving an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP tests taken, and a score of 3 or higher on four or more AP tests:  Mohammed Abdoul, Christopher Bell, Andrew Burns, Justin Callanan, Lea Claflin, Nicholas Deierlein, Jackson DeLaney, Katrina Hon, Andrew Lewis, Jacob Mendicino, William Miller, Merrill Rabinovsky, Elizabeth Styblo, Joseph Sullivan, Westwood Sutherland, Elisabeth Turner, Thomas Wong, and Matthew Zackin.

The following 33 students were recognized as AP Scholar with Distinction, for receiving an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP tests taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more AP tests: Jason Anderson, Michael Atallah, Sarah Belden, Megan Berntsen, Gavin Birdsall, Samantha Buckley, Kira Burnhan, Robert Caldaroni, Sam Ciocca, Sydney Dembski, Samantha DePalma, Abigail Dwight, Beatrice Folchi, Eric Gao, Besart Hoxa, Henry Hu, Sarmed Imadula, Isha Joshi, Tanishq Kancharla, Andrew Kelbley, Rebekah Kennedy, Daniel Koobatian, Julia Kossakowski, Samantha Lee, Patricia Liu, Clara Ma, Farwa Mahmud, Haley McClure, Erin Mulhall, Connor O’Sullivan, Gwendolyn Strickland, Abhijay Thammana, and Austin Wang.

The following 5 students were recognized as National AP Scholars for receiving an average score of at least 4 on all AP tests taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more AP tests:  Henry Hu, Tanishq Kancharla, Andrew Kelbley, Connor O’Sullivan, Abhijay Thammana.

This is the highest number of students recognized as AP Scholars or higher at Pomperaug High School since at least 2012.  “Reaching these goals shows that Region 15 is successfully identifying motivated, academically prepared students who are ready for Advanced Placement,” said College Board.

Congratulations Students!