Honors and Awards

2/26/2019 - 9th Annual AP District Honor Roll!


omperaug Regional School District #15 was one of 373 school districts in the U.S. and Canada to be named to the College Board’s 9th Annual Advanced Placement District Honor Roll. To be included on the Honor Roll, Region 15 had to increase (over a span of 3 years) the number of students participating in Advanced Placement (AP) courses while also increasing or maintaining the percentage of students earning AP Exam scores of 3 or higher on a 5-point scale. AP exams are standardized examinations that measure students’ mastery of college-level content and skills.  Reaching these goals shows that Region 15 is successfully identifying motivated, academically prepared students who are ready for AP coursework.

“Participation in an Advanced Placement course helps our students prepare for the rigors of life after high school.  This achievement represents the challenge students are taking and a district that encourages students to reach a little further,” said Joshua Smith, Superintendent of Region 15 Schools.

Last year’s class of Juniors and Seniors at Pomperaug High School were recognized a total of 114 times by having been named by College Board as National AP Scholars, AP Scholars with Distinction,  AP Scholars with Honor or AP Scholars. Recognition was based on the number of AP examinations students have cumulatively taken in their academic careers through the Spring, 2018.  This is the highest number of students recognized as AP Scholars or higher at Pomperaug High School since at least 2012.

Inclusion in the 9th Annual AP District Honor Roll is based on a review of three years of AP data, from 2016 to 2018, looking across 38 AP Exams, including world language and culture. The following criteria is used:

  • Increase participation/access to AP by at least 4% in large districts, at least 6% in medium districts, and at least 11% in small districts;

  • Increased or maintained the percentage of American Indian/Alaska Native, Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, and Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander students taking exams and increased or maintained the percentage of American Indian/Alaska Native, Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, and Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander students scoring 3+ on at least one AP Exam; and

  • Improve or maintain performance levels when comparing the 2018 percentage of students scoring a 3 or higher to the 2016 percentage, unless the district has already attained a performance level at which more than 70% of its AP students earn a 3 or higher.

The following 5 students were recognized as National AP Scholars for receiving an average score of at least 4 on all AP tests taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more AP tests:  Justin Callanan, Eric Gao, Aidan Garrity, Clara Ma, and Matthew Zackin.

The following 32 students were recognized as AP Scholar with Distinction, for receiving an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP tests taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more AP tests: Mohammed Abdoul, Meghana Annambhotla, Max Atkinson, Grayden Bain, Christopher Bell, Hannah Brooks, Justin Callanan, Natalie Connors, Siobhan Flanagan, Kaitlyn Furr, Eric Gao, Aidan Garrity, Dylan Hicks, Katrina Hon, Jason Jorge, Sarah Kwashnak, Ka Yeung Kwok, Pat LaMarco, Christopher Lang, Melody Liu, Elizabeth Loehl, Clara Ma, William Miller, Grace Monagan, Ronald Nemec, Charles Rescanski, Lauren Stango, Westwood Sutherland, Stella Wang, Matthew Zackin, Chloe Zilkha, and Jacob Zilkha.

The following 28 students were recognized as AP Scholars with Honor, for receiving an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP tests taken, and a score of 3 or higher on four or more AP tests: Jordan Baron, Isabelle Brainerd, Lilian DeLeo, Olivia Dwight, Elizabeth Evans, Nathan Gibson, David Hanna, Gabriel Holmes, Philip Holmes, Hannah Jensen, Nataie Kelly, Taylor Kissinger, Arber Kulia, Lissandra Marshall, Brynn Mayer, Isabelle Messina, Robert Miller, Madison Molnar, Carson Moore, Luke Nayllor, Gregory Pelletier, Noah Peters, James Rescsanski, David Roper, Shelly Rose, Jaqueline Tavoletti, Brooke Tweedie and Emily Wyrick.

The following 54 students were recognized as AP Scholars, for receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP tests: Benjamin Bernard, Stephan Bscheider, Kaitlyn Burstiner, Benjamin Cerneck, Henry Cerneck, Madison Connelly, Morgan Darby, Ryan DeAngelis, Samuel Dennis, Zachary DiMeglio, Terrance Dumoulin, Carly Fernandes, Jack Gibbons, Samiha Haque, Aidan Henry, Patrick Holland, Robert Holmes, Diellza Ismaili, Dane Jorgensen, Abbigail Joseph, Carolyn Kelly, Brett Landmon, Michelle Lu, Thomas Lyon, Kathryn Mangiameli, Allison McCormick, Sean Mealnson, Gabriella Mentgen, Jack Messina, Sarah Mollin, Alexander Moniodes, Sophia Moniodes, Jack Muratori, Conor Murphy, Lauren Neisser, Ava Ouellette, Isabella Pasqualucci, Anna Pekovich, Deanna Pietrorazio, Usman Rahman, Julia Richardson, Sam Rupff, Kelsey Savoy, Michael Savoyski, Melanie Silverman, Nathan Stronkowsky, Sahira Syed, Skye Szabo, Matthew Tarnowski, Joshua Tranos, Ashleigh Whitten, Jack Winkelman, Samantha Wisnefsky, and Griffin Wolf.

Helping more students learn at a higher level and earn higher AP scores is an objective of all members of the AP community, from AP teachers to district and school administrators to college professors. Many districts are experimenting with initiatives and strategies to see how they can expand access and improve student performance at the same time.