Honors and Awards

10/20/2020 - National Merit Commended Students! Congratulations!


Six students from Pomperaug High School (PHS) have been recognized in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program, as National Merit Commended Students.  The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) is an annual academic competition for recognition and college undergraduate scholarships, based on Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) scores.

Joseph Bevilacqua, Emma Broadwater, Benjamin Ecsedy, Avik Hegde, Drew Rosenhein, and Carolyn Yang were recognized for their outstanding achievements at the Region 15 Board of Education meeting on Monday, October 19th, 2020.   

“On behalf of all the educators of Region 15, we are very proud to recognize the collective accomplishments of these students. The ability for these students to succeed in an educational environment that has so many new challenges speaks volumes about their dedication and focus as it relates to the rest of the country. There is a collective delight among our staff when we see our students succeed and hope that our contributions have aided them on their journey.” said Joshua Smith, Superintendent of Region 15 Schools.

According to the National Merit® Scholarship Program (NMSC), "Approximately 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.  The nationwide pool of Commended Students represent the top 3-4% of U.S. high school seniors.”

We are proud to recognize these students for the hard work that they have put in throughout high school.  On behalf of the PHS faculty and staff it is our honor to be a part of their journey and we know that they will continue to challenge themselves as they move forward.  As leaders of our school we challenge them to continue to leave their lasting positive contribution on Pomperaug in the classrooms, as well as in the larger community.  Congratulations again and we look forward to seeing all that these students will accomplish!” said Dr. Paul Jones, Principal, Pomperaug High School.

Information about the National Merit Scholarship Corporation can be found at http://www.nationalmerit.org.